Dental Tourism in Trujillo

While in Trujillo a few days ago, I came to realize that my last dental cleaning was in Delhi five months ago.

I was on an afternoon mission:  To find a dentist that would clean my teeth for around $20.

I left Casa de Clara for a very short stroll and a right turn before I noticed a dental establishment.

I rang the bell.  A girl popped her head out.   I said something along the lines of:

I’d like to have my teeth cleaned.”

“¿Una limpieza?”

Sí, Una limpieza.”

She quickly inquired with someone else and told me to come back at 4 pm which was an hour away.

I asked about the price.  I thought I heard her say 50 which is just under $20.  This was my guess or assumption price.  It was conveniently and exactly what I wanted to hear.

Upon returning at 4 pm on the dot, I was instructed to sit in the waiting room where I relaxed for five minutes before the girl brought me in to see la dentista.  I sat back in the chair.  The dentist used a little mirror to quickly glance at all my teeth.  She instructed her assistant to help and they went to work.

The equipment and tools were relatively modern.  She cleaned and polished for about 25 minutes.  Absolutely no discomfort was felt.  Then, voila, I sported a set of fresh, clean teeth.

Upon departing, I had a 50-sol note.  This is what I thought to be the exact amount.  I handed it to the girl and didn’t understand why she asked me to wait.  She returned with a 20-sol note and said:

The cleaning was 30 soles and your change is 20.”

Muchisimas gracias amiga.  Que vaya bien.”

30 soles is $11.30.  I thought I’d heard 50 and not 30.  This made me think: I must have thought I’d heard 50 because that was my goal.   I’ve just had the cheapest cleaning of my life.  I hadn’t expected it to be so inexpensive.

I wondered how they were able to afford the equipment and tools considering that their prices are so reasonable.

An Interesting Note:  I didn’t have to fill out one bit of paperwork.  They didn’t ask for my name, or where I’m from.  If I were to visit a dentist for the first time in the US they’d make me fill out a long form about my medical history.   I find the method in Perú to be much more efficient.

I wholeheartedly recommend this dentist to anyone who might be in or passing through Trujillo:  Señor Lurren, Dra. Teresa Liliana Guerrero Carbojal, Calle Huayna Capac 431, Urb. Santa Maria, Trujillo, 225830 phone: 948862240 emaillilite_4@hotmail.com

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         You’ll You’ll probably need at least a little bit of Spanish to manage seeing a dentist while in Perú or anywhere in Latin America.   When the dentist was saying things about my teeth I definitely didn’t catch it all as I have no experience speaking dental Spanish.   Thus, all you really need to know how to say is:

Quiero una limpieza.”

My guess is that if you’re traveling in Latin America you know the numbers and how to say how much in Spanish.  Then, voila, you too can engage in preventative dental care at a fraction of what you’d pay in Europe or North America.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

If you enjoyed this post then you’ll probably be interested in my dental cleanings in Delhi and McLeod Ganj.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Have you ever engaged in therapeutic tourism at a dream value such as this?  Feel free to leave a comment below.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Al on April 24, 2012 at 23:07

    I almost didn´t read this post… but I can deal with non-destructive dental care, it´s the other kind that awakens terror all the way down to the depths of my soul: http://ztrafferthoughts.blogspot.com/search?q=ca

    Reply

    • AL: That’s some funny stuff. These prophylactic cleanings will theoretically save a lot of money and discomfort in the long haul. Anyone that has any idea about health will tell you that preventative medicine is king. In the US, It costs over $100 for a cleaning because they require a check-up. Xrays are expensive. While living in the US, I only had my teeth cleaned once a year or less. Now, while traveling, I’ve had three painless limpianzas in the last year, paying a total of $52. That’s one-sixth the cost for the same quality care with less BS.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

