A Short Drifting Diversion in Riobamba

While drifting towards two volcanoes and a sunset, I was interrupted by a short woman who was standing under a tree’s branches that were hanging above the sidewalk.  She asked if I would please pull some leaves down from the tree above.

I reached up and pulled down a branch.  She grabbed a bunch of leaves and thanked me five or six times.  I thought: It was really nothing, and now I’m curious as to what these leaves are used for.

The woman explained that these ojas de capuli or cherry leaves would cure her sore throat.  After boiling the leaves in water, she’d use the water for gargling, and then voila, her sore throat would be history.

Because she was so happy that I’d helped her, I thought: Asking her for a photo can’t hurt.

Upon doing some research, I found out that the leaves and buds of this tree are used to treat cramps and rheumatoid arthritis.

My investigation also led me to find that these cherry tree leaves are used to treat flu symptoms, coughing, shortness of breath and bronchitis.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

 I’m fascinated by naturopathic remedies.  Is there a homeopathic treatment that you’d like to share?  Please feel free to leave a comment.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by P. on April 4, 2012 at 20:42

    interesting. are you going to give this remedy a try yourself? would be interested in hearing a followup…

    Reply

    • P: Fortunately I haven’t had a cold since I’ve been down here. But, I am trying to drink more herbal tea and less coffee these days. But sure, as soon as I have a chance I’ll pick some cherry tree leaves and prepare an elixir, why not? Hope to have the opportunity to follow up and have made a note of that.

      Reply

  2. How about Ayahuasca for depression, addiction, colitis, a lost soul? This is Nat Geo’s most read online article of all time. Its about one of their journalist’s experiences with Ayahuasca in the amazon. http://www.nationalgeographic.com/adventure/0603/features/peru.html

    Reply

    • LUCAS: Now that’s amazing. Unbelievable. WOW! Oh my God! I’m sure we could all use some demon purging. Funny, about a week ago an Ecuadorian told me he knew of shamen who could guide us. But I really didn’t take the guy seriously. After reading the NG article I now understand a little bit more about what this man was telling me.
      I’m off to cross the border into Perú tomorrow I think. I wasn’t planning on hitting the amazon. It’s now nice to know about this thing that has the potential to do me a lot of good. OK, I just read the article so I need some time to digest it before I consider what could be an amazing life experiment. 🙂

      Reply

      • From one drifter to another, it has value if you arent scared to look within. I know from your reading you are seeking the next level of consciousness. Believe me, its there and its beautiful. If you feel the least bit interested, do some more research, its absolutely amazing.

        Reply

        • LUCAS: Thanks for the info. I think you’re right. I am now aware of this Ayahuasca and hope to create the opportunity to engage in this form of therapeutic tourism in the near future…

          Reply

  3. Posted by Annie on April 3, 2012 at 23:22

    Whenever we had an ear ache when little, my Italian grandma always told my mom to put HOT (really warm) Olive Oil in our ear to sooth the pain. Being little and hearing about HOT OIL…thinking French Fries bubbling in the pan….we were then crying from being afraid of HOT OIL instead of the ear pain. Needless to say mom didn’t do that since we always freaked out. lol

    When you do get actual ear pain drops, the base of that medicine is Oil, so granny new something!

    Reply

    • ANNIE: Very interesting. I never knew that. It makes total sense. I wonder if olive oil is the best for that as there are so many other oils out there. I’ll need to do some research on that. Thanks for the info!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

