Hot Stone Volcanic Massage

When I think of the little town of Baños, the first thing that comes to mind is  therapeutic tourism. Besides allowing people to easily bathe in thermal springs, the town is home to well over a dozen massage parlors.

Considering I’d been walking past these massage service stores for a week, I figured that it was time to take advantage of the option that was staring me down.

While in Thailand about six months ago, I wanted to treat myself to a hot stone massage. I didn’t know what it was. I was curious. But, because I was getting over an abdominal issue, I didn’t want to lie on my sore stomach.

Now, here in Baños, there doesn’t appear to be stomach issues. While walking around the town last night I randomly chose a shop that offers a Hot Stones Volcanic Massage.

Because they typically close at 9 pm and I’d arrived at 8:30 pm, my massage was cut back by 15 minutes, from one hour to 45 minutes.  In order to achieve this, the owner got another masajista to help her.

It turned out that a full body oil massage was included with the hot stones. Often I had four slick hands working on different parts of me simultaneously.

I tried to close my eyes, turn off my mind, and relax. At times it was challenging. I’d think: I’ve had massage therapy in Thailand and Colombia, but never with two people working on my body at the same time.

When I couldn’t block thoughts I used mantras like: Relax completely . . . Calm yourself . . . Breathe . . . Turn off .

Soon into the therapy, hot stones were brought out. The first one triggered a burning sensation. The rest thereafter soothed me. I felt heat pressing into skin, muscle tissue and bone. At times they would drop a stone into my hand. Twice I had to drop a rock because it was too hot.

Meditation music played during the entire rub down.

After the intense 45-minute massage, my entire body felt rested and rejuvenated.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

As mentioned, I randomly chose a place. It worked out well. The two therapists were professional, very polite, and gave a soothing massage.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

The massage I got is typically given by one person and lasts an hour. It cost $25. This is at least three times cheaper than it would be in a spa in North America or Europe.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

One of the people who gave me the massage is Cecilia Toscano. She’s the owner of the Agua Santa Spa that can be found on Lusi A. Martinez and 12 de Noviembre.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Like the other massage stores in town, the Agua Santa Spa offer a wide range of services from Reyki to face masks to reflexology.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Therapeutic Benefits of Hot Stone Massage

● Deeply relaxes muscles and tissues

● Enhances blood circulation

● Removes toxins

● Takes away pain

● Tranquilizes the psyche

● Wards off stress

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Has a massage ever helped you therapeutically?  Feel free to leave a comment.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Nice!! In todays twisted developing world its hard to find a therapeutic and professional massage. In Cali I have avoided the parlors so far. Im told some of them are a cover for brothels. I remember the massages on the beach in Phuket, Thailand. The women would walk on your back for like 3 bucks. It was brilliant! Im glad you are enjoying your travels, nothing moves the soul like a good trip. Where are you headed next?

    Reply

    • HERE AND THERE aka LUCAS: Thanks! The sign massage is sometimes a euphemism for brothel. But, so far on this trip I’ve had super legit, therapeutic massages in Salento (Colombia) and in Baños (Ecuador). I agree that Thailand is great for massages, and with the outdoor ones you know they can’t be brothels. 🙂
      I’m in Riobamba now and heading to Guayaquil in a little while. The tentative plan is to get down to Perú soon.

      Reply

  2. I’ve always wanted a massage like this; definitely got to try it soon 🙂

    Reply

    • WARTICA: Fortunately I’m in a place where it’s possible to have an affordable, hot stone massage. There are many other options too. If you ever make it to Baños or Thailand, it will behoove you to engage in this sort of therapeutic tourism.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

