Five Signs From Mumbai

I haven’t published a signs post since Signs Of India a while back.  In total, Five Signs From Mumbai will be only the fourth signs post.  My favorite remains the first one: Signs of Nicaragua.

I still love to read signs and snap shots of the ones I like, seem interesting, or have the potential to look good in a picture.

During my  day in Bombay, I managed to snap a few pics of signage.  Here are five of six that I deemed worthy of sharing.

ENJOY:

This sign I found in Mumbai’s Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, formerly known as Victoria Terminus.  When reading it I thought:  Jail for buying a train ticket. That’s a harsh sentence.  If it’s any consolation: I never once had a tout offer me a train ticket in India.  Regardless, if someone does offer you one, you know that it’s not worth the risk.  Train tickets are very affordable in India.  TIP: If you’re not in one of the megacities, tourist counters don’t typically exist in the stations.  Often the only option to avoid long lines and wait times is to buy a ticket from a travel agent.  They tend to charge a 100 Rupee or $1.88 commission.  This extra cost can save hours.

This sign was shot in the well-to-do Colaba neighborhood.   I like the optomistic vibe combined with the shabby look.

This sign is from the Boot House in Kamala Nehru Park on Malabar Hill.  I find the wording interesting.

I went to Leopold’s because I had recently finished reading the epic Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts.  Leopold’s was a hangout spot throughout parts of the book.   You may want to click on this one for a zoom.  I ‘m not a fan of Coca Cola but I like the artistry of the vintage advertisting on either side of the sign.

What I like about this Colaba sign is the tree that it’s in front of.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Do you like Sign posts? Would you like to see more of them?  Feel free to leave a comment with your honest opinion.  I welcome both positive feedback and constructive criticism. 

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve been to that Boot! And also have a funny story to go along with it, involving an Indian man climbing it (but not from the out site!). Love these memories of Mumbai, such an amazing city…

    Reply

    • SARAH: My guide also mentioned that despite the sign, he often sees adults climbing the boot house. Perhaps the BY ORDER verbiage tends to cause an instinctive rebellion in people.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Al on December 13, 2011 at 11:02

    Nice pictures, cool signs. Bonus: blog visitors can learn how to write the digits 0, 1, and 4 in Sanscrit. well, I think it´s Sanscrit.

    Reply

    • AL: Thanks, it must be Hindi although it could be Maharati, the language of Maharashtra state. As romance languages are derived from Latin, languages of India are derived from Sanscrit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

