Bundi’s Main Attraction

I really liked the ancient municipality of Bundi.  One reason for this was the wonderful interactions I had with a few of the people there.  The other was for its main attraction, the Garh Palace and Taragarh Fort.

I started with the Garh Palace.  Because I arrived early, just after they opened at 8am, there were hardly any people.  At the palace, I only came across one maintenance worker and two other tourists.  This gave me lots of free space to gaze in awe and take photos.

After I was done wandering around the palace, I made my way along a couple of paths that lead up to the Taragarh Fort, which consists of many ruins and is inhabited by troops of monkeys.  I’ve never come across more primates in one place.

I spent a couple of hours drifting through the old fort and easily coexisting with the monkeys that I thought to have one of the nicest homes for roaming that I’d ever seen.

Like the palace below, I don’t know anything about the history.    There was a guide on offer when I bought my ticket.  Hiring him would have taught me a lot.  But, I typically prefer to see things on my own while not being rushed around by the whims of a chaperon.

Instead of researching the palace and fort’s royal history and regurgitating this info to you, I thought I’d share some visual vibrations.  This leaves you free to use your historical imagination.

ENJOY:

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Separate tickets must be purchased for the palace and fort.  Each attraction costs 100 Rupees plus 50 Rupees to use your camera.  Entrance to both attractions plus the ability to take photos and shoot video costs a total of 300 Rupees or $5.84 at today’s exchange rate. 

At attractions all over India it’s common to be charged an optional camera usage fee in addition to admission.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mamma on December 6, 2011 at 17:48

    THANK YOU EVER SO MUCH, SO BEAUTIFUL !

    Reply

  2. Wonderful photos 🙂 Now i must google for the history! And haa, boondi also means a kind of sweet in Hindi, you must have seen it, boondi ke laddoo, google it 🙂

    Reply

    • GANESH: Thanks! Just looked up Boondi ke laddoo and yes I’ve tried it but didn’t remember the name. I recall it being very heavy, but tasty. There are so many sweets in shops along the streets of Indian cities that it can be overwhelming for the foreign traveler. I found the ubiquitous Galub Jamun to be super-delicious. I probably didn’t try most of them but my favorite of the ones that I did try is called: Pista Laddu. The outside reminds me of a European marzipan, extremely delicious stuff.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Al on December 1, 2011 at 12:47

    Wow, nice pictutres, very cool place, interesting examples of Indian architectural style. I bet you continue to digest your India drifting experience… must feel like a total different world now.

    Reply

    • AL: Interesting point. One huge difference is: here people get road rage easily, practically over nothing whereas in India, driving appears chatoic to our western eyes. There people make hair-thin allowances for one another yet you hardly see road rage. I only noticed it once when my rickshaw driver crashed into a bicyclist and yelled at the guy for about five seconds…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

