Cachori: Indian Breakfast Bliss

After walking through the area where guesthouses and their rooftop restaurants seem to occupy every other building, I took a left at the temple. 

Suddenly I’d removed myself from touristy looking surroundings.  In less than a minute there was nobody throwing out the endless:

Where are you coming from?”

How long India?”

What’s your good name?”

Come into my shop. Come.  Come.  Hey.  I have the best . . .”

There were no tailors telling me that I need a new suit.  There were no moto-rickshaw drivers wanting to be my guide.  I was away from the micro-tourist trap that occupies  many Indian cities.  In no time at all, I was walking peacefully through a zone not geared towards consuming vacationers.

While trying to keep my eyes peeled for surprises, I came across a little hole in the run-down street mall.

There was a man stuffing flour dough balls with a mixture of chili powder, coriander or cilantro, dal, ginger, salt, and yellow curry powder.   Beside the stuffer was another man frying these filled, flour dough balls in a pan similar to a huge wok.

After five minutes the balls are removed from the oil-filled Chinese-style pan.

Next an individual ball is placed in a recyclable dish on a banana leaf.  This fried concoction is then doused with two sauces.

First a red sauce that consists of licorice, mango, oil, salt, sugar and  water, is ladled on.

Then an optional green sauce is poured over.  It consists of coriander, lemon powder,  lemon salt, mint, and black and white salt.

In one crispy bite you get over 18 different flavors.  It sounds like overkill but if you ever have the chance to try it, do.  The flavors of cachori aren’t overdone.  The blend of fruit, mint, salt, spice and sweetness packs a taste sensation like no other.

With these mouth-watering vibrations melted into the fresh, crispy and warm texture of a stuffed, fried flour ball, you’ve got Indian breakfast bliss.

That afternoon over fruit salad I described the food and place to my friend Pappu the fruit genius.  He said:

Palivar!  Having best cachori in Udaipur.”

I thought: I’ll continue to try and keep my eyes peeled for new finds because this one was a score, and the locals agree.

One morning, I stopped in for breakfast before I was to meet my guide who would take me to the village.

It was the holiday of Eid al-Adha.  That meant no school for the owner’s daughter, the only one there who could hold a conversation in English, and a fluent one at that. Fortunately she was eager to tell me everything she knew about her Dad’s cachori shop, and most importantly, the above ingredients mentioned.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

The cost of the cachori has nothing to do with the amazing quality or why I wrote this post.  I would’ve still written about this exotic food item even if it had been expensive.  One catchori costs 6 Rupees or $.13.   Typically I’d have two cachoris and a delicious glass of ginger, milky, hot chai for 17 Rupees or $.35.  This is probably the best epicurean value I’ve ever come across.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

I typically try to eat healthily.  I hardly eat meat.  In India,  I almost never eat it as this land is a vegetarian’s paradise.  I normally don’t condone the consumption of deep-fried food and would never prepare it or punish myself with it daily.  But, experiencing something that the locals love overrides eating über-healthy food all the time.  As I drift, I like to try to live the adage: When in Rome. . .

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

If you’re in Udaipur and want to try this yummy concoction, just ask any local where Palivar is.  You won’t be able to read the sign unless you can read Hindi or Muruwani.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Palivar serves Cachori between 7 am and 12 pm daily.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Here are pics of some of the catchori steps described above:

Feel free to click on the enlarged thumbnail for a grander view.

ENJOY:

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pru on November 29, 2011 at 14:25

    This looks amazing, and great photos!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Darren on November 14, 2011 at 17:06

    Nice post, cachori is now another item on my to do list, thanks! In the mean time, I might incorporate some of those spices into a potential new pasta sauce creation…

    Reply

  3. Wow, sounds amazing, and so true about value for money, paradise for the budget conscious! I have had pani puri, which is a bit different, more like a crisp shell filled with flavoured liquid that is somehow both sweet and sour (and crunchy). Great post, I look forward to checking out Udaipur as we couldn’t fit it in on our last (and only) trip to India 🙂

    Reply

    • SARAH: Thanks! Yes, that was ridiculously cheap, but it’s hard to keep it that low if you want to eat healthily, still, a real good meal can cost $2 which is a fantastic value still.

      I was very pleasantly surprised the first time I had puri.

      Udaipur is beautiful. There’s a Queen’s Garden there that’s a feast for the eyes, only 5 Rupees, another unbelievable value. You can also check out a nightly musical/culture show which is pretty impressive and super affordable.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

