Glimpses of a Gorgeous Goan Beach Hike

A Desolate Stretch of Arambol Beach, north Goa, India.

I found myself at the top of north Goa, on Arambol beach.

Aside from textile and souvenir shops, a bunch of generic restaurants and idyllic beach stretches, I discovered an amazing hike. It was unlike any I’ve ever experienced.

The trek began at the main beach, two minutes from my 400 Rupee or $8.10 hotel room with fan and private bath. This is where the shower spewed out the hottest water and strongest pressure that I’ve had so far on this trip.

I pulled my sneakers out for only the second time during this drift, my longest to date. The first time these sneakers, runners or tennis shoes saw use is when I jogged in Bangkok’s Lumpini Park a week before the stomach discomfort began. I remember the timing well as my thighs were sore for a week. I attributed this soreness to my legs prefering dirt or clay over asphalt or concrete.

From where the narrow, shop-lined main street ended on the Arabian sea, I walked across a small area that ended a long sandy coastline.

I veered left on a walkway lined with restaurants, guesthouses and shops, heading in the direction of the end of the Goan shore line and the state of Maharashtra.

I passed people selling textiles, handicrafts, sarongs and beautiful quilts. There were also a few simple, über-affordable guesthouses. I highly recommend these places of accomodation if you like to go to sleep and wake to the sound of the ocean.

After a  short 20-minute stroll or so, a nice beach appeared and there were no more places of business,  only hawkers conveniently selling coconuts, pineapples and beverages. Also available were semi-sheltered recliners with tables for 50 Rupees or $1.01 per day. Here I stopped, swam and took pictures.

View Between Beaches

A man sold me a coconut for 20 Rupees or $.41. Thanks to him I found out that I could continue along the path by walking to the very end of the second beach and climbing up a few rocks.

I came to find out that after  a very short, yet precipitious incline, there’s a narrow path that winds up, down and around, and through a lot of brush. It’s pretty easy to follow.

After hiking up a rocky cliff is when the trek became magical. I’d never hiked along a tropical shore or felt an ocean breeze while on a trail. The salty and sultry air felt therapeutic.

I meandered along lush, tropical earth while juxtaposed against a rocky, infinite sea and its constant ebb and flow. The natural setting felt divine.

I don’t remember how long the hike took as I stopped often in the midst of a photo-taking frenzy. I’ll estimate that it takes about forty minutes to descend upon another beautiful beach. When I got to that beach I turned around.

On my way back I spoke to the coconut hawker who then explained that if I’d kept going, I would have come to a fresh water lake and a Banyan tree. I thought: I want to explain that I didn’t have any water left, that I hadn’t packed properly as I thought the hike comprised of only the first stretch of guesthouses and shops.

Before commencing upon the hilly area that provided absolutely gorgeous views, I had no idea that the walk in nature would be so spectacular. I wholeheartedly recommend this little trek in Arambol.

Here’s an array of pics:

ENJOY:

Short Climb Into Secluded Nature

A Sun-Dried Path

Appreciating the Elements

Sea and Tropical Tree

Invigorating Earth and Sea

A Gorgeous Goan Landscape

Woman Balancing Fruit

TIPS and CONCERNS

Start your hike as early as possible. The crack of dawn is ideal for the coolest temps.

Be careful of slipping and falling. I noticed a couple of dry and rocky spots where I began to slip, and I had sneakers on.

You may want to wear long pants as your legs will scrape against a lot of bush. I wore shorts and showered after. I was fine so my guess is that there are no poisonous plants. I came across two locals who were wearing pants. This is what made me worry about rash inducing flora that doesn’t seem to exist.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pru on November 29, 2011 at 13:47

    Wow, this is so beautiful. I would love to be there right now…

    Reply

    • PRU: You would absolutely love Goa. It seems that many westerners who often visit India egard Goa as their favorite of all the states. The beaches there also attract many Indian tourists.

      Reply

  2. Thank you, I didn’t get to Goa on my last (and only) visit to India, but your photos are very enticing, and I can’t wait to see it for myself on my next trip!

    Reply

    • SARAH: Thanks! When you make it Arambol and you do that short hike, remember to make it to the third beach and the fresh (they call it sweet) water lake and Banyan tree.

      India’s so huge, almost impossible to go everywhere, and it would take a very long time. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Posted by Erin on October 31, 2011 at 02:40

    Love your hiking photos and reading your latest posts. Glad to hear you are feeling better too. Floods continuing here – where you were in Thonburi is inundated. School has been cancelled for the week. You left at a good time. Safe travels! Erin and Tim

    Reply

    • ERIN: Thanks! You guys would probably love Goa as most people do. It’s a unique place.

      As for the floods, yes, I was super lucky regarding the timing of Chiang Mai and Bangkok. I left Bangkok just in time. I’m glad that you guys are managing, so sad for the ones who have been so affected though, and a blizzard in the NE of the US in October. What’s happening to the earth?

      Reply

  4. You’re not the only one. Of all places in India, the majority of foreigners seem to prefer Goa over the other 28 states.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mamma on October 29, 2011 at 10:11

    Tusen takk for the beautiful pictures and report on the gorgeous trek! Wish I were there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

