Wats of Chiang Mai: A Photo Essay

Chiang Mai is loaded with wats or Buddhist temples. There are said to be over 300 of them in the relatively small city. They provide visual pleasure for travelers who make time to stop and gaze in awe.

When walking past temples or into their complexes, I couldn’t help but pull out my camera on many occasions. During my three weeks in Chiang Mai, I probably snapped around a hundred shots of these architectural wonders.

I pulled out my 10 favorite pictures of these iconic wats so that I could share them with you.

Don’t forget to click on the photos for an enhanced view.

ENJOY!:

Wat under a whimsical sky

Palm between two temples

Amazing craftsmanship

Majestic layered roofs

Grand side view

Divided sky above

Fairy tale entry

Layered steep roofs

Immaculate temple stairs

Spire against a mid-day August sky

3 responses to this post.

  1. PINKY: A thousand thanks! I’m so motivated to keep taking pics!

    DJSWG: I’m not sure that all the buildings are so well-maintained, but I don’t recall seeing any dilapidated ones. Thailand is a country on the rise. It’s very clean. These are Buddhist temples. Monks seem to be constantly working on and around them.

    Reply

  2. Posted by djswg on August 22, 2011 at 22:13

    That is amazing how they keep their buildings so well maintained. Beautiful.

    Reply

  3. Wow. Looks amazing. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

