A Visit to Nek Chand’s Fantasy Rock Garden

It’s like you’re stepping back in time when you’re really walking through a creation spawned from Nek Chand’s brain work.

In the 28-hours that I spent in Chandigarth this past Friday night and into the very wee hours of the am on Sunday, many things happened.   As mentioned two posts ago:

●  I was in a mild rickshaw accident.  Fortunately no one was hurt.  It was tough fortune for the rickshaw driver who lost his fare.  After slamming on the breaks, the man couldn’t get his rickshaw to start.

●  I suffered from creepy-crawling critter-induced insomnia.

As mentioned one post ago:

●  I got erroneous travel information from an enquiry-booth information provider.  As I’ve already conceded, part of it may have been due to a language barrier; I still thought: The government worker could have acted less lackadaisical.

Despite these compromises, not all went awry.  The  day in Chandigarth was saved when I made it to Nek Chand’s Fantasy Rock Garden.

Along with many middle class plus Indian tourists, I admired this magical and unique rock sculpture park.

Because I was the only foreigner there, I got plenty of pleasant attention.

Photo, photo.”

Most of us were feeling photogenic.

I heard in a soft, humble tone as a group of boys and girls walked by.  When I noticed that a few seemed a little embarrassed by the girl’s remarks, I turned around:

Sure, let’s take a photo.”

People asked me the usual questions:

Where are you from?”

Guess

England . . . France . . . United States

What’s your Name?”

How long India?”

There would be more people and more snaps shot.

I inquired about Hindi words and phrases.  They were beyond happy to attempt to teach me one of their mother tongues.  Fatigued from no sleep and unable to make quick associations –not that I’m good at doing that in Hindi– I pulled out my mini notebook and wrote.

Most of them spoke decent English. It’s mandatory in the schools.

I spent about an hour and a half during the  hottest part of that sticky afternoon at the wacky labyrinth made of rocks and recycled material.

As I walked through the many different paths and took in the endless mass of sculptural ambiance, I pondered:  This park can be compared to the land it’s in.  Like the great, massive India, this sculpture garden is full of endless surprises.

I don’t know what I enjoyed more, the enthusiasm and genuine interest from the other tourists, or the wild creation from Nek Chand’s alternative mind.

I  can’t compare the two.  Both the people and the park provided for an interesting Saturday afternoon in late June.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

The sculpture park is open from 9pm to 7am this time of year.   Entry is 15 Rupees (US $.34).  It’s super easy to catch a bus from the Sector 17 bus terminal.  The bus costs 10 Rupees each way.

Here are some more pics from this other-dimensional park:

For enhanced visual pleasure, click on the photos.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

