Fortunate to be Able to Drift

Upon choosing my next destination, I spent more time than I planned researching and dealing with bureaucracy.  But I can’t complain.   I must feel fortunate to have the ability to drift.

Besides Brazil in ’99, I haven’t been to a BRIC country.   At the moment, I’m interested in BRICs.

Brazil’s five-year multiple-entry visa was painless.  I visited the local consulate on my lunch break two days in the same week and had my visa.

In ’02 I needed a visa for Laos.  Spending very little time and money, I left my passport in Chiang Mai (Thailand) and three days later picked it up in Chiang Kong at the border.

As I’ve visited mostly countries that allow me to get a stamp upon arrival, I’ve been spoiled by not having to spend time and money on travel visas.

Now, I’ve decided to try to follow a partial Drifting Dream (#2 if you visit the link) that’s been tied up in the back of my mind for as long as I can remember.

Yesterday, while in NYC processing paperwork regarding travel regulations at the consulate’s outsourcing agency, I thought:  Visas and passports are cash cows for governments.

The passport and visa are supposed to be mailed back to me within the next few days. Then it’ll be possible to acquire a ticket to this fascinating and far away land.

Until then I’ll remain in MA in what’s now a ‘Gray May’.  The expression used to be ‘April Showers Bring May Flowers’ until the most recent wave of climate change.

I can’t complain about the cool, gray and rainy May here as it’s far from disastrous.  I find cool and sunless days pleasant in a strange way.

There’s no use in complaining about a country’s visa ordeal taking me by surprise as I just have to consider myself fortunate to be able to travel.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Here’s a super useful visa info tool that I came across in my research.

2 responses to this post.

  1. ANNIE: It would have been great to meet for lunch. I decided to go the day before. I basically got there, walked to the office, walked back, got stuck in a downpour, hit a cafe, had some lentil soup, walked back to the bus and had some veggies from a deli on the way. I love NYC delis and the diversity I get to see walking in that city.

    I left at 7am and got back at 11pm. I always seem to make it to NYC for one reason or another so next time I’ll have to get in touch with you beforehand and try to meet.

    I want to purchase a 14-day advanced ticket so as long as all goes well I’m looking at heading off in two to three weeks.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Annie on May 19, 2011 at 22:15

    Hey! You should have told me you were going to be in NYC. We could have met for lunch! Good luck getting your visa. If all goes well when do you think you’ll head there?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

