A Health Food Fiend’s Dream

While staying at the $35 a night Hotel Latino in Panama City, I bonded through the need for Wifi with a Location Independent Professional and fellow guest.

The Wifi there pretty much sucked as the connection was slow and only worked in the lounge downstairs until 10:30 pm, not in the rooms.

Because good wifi is crucial to me, I thought: So much for the Hotel Latino, even if they have a roof deck swimming pool that I’ve been able to take advantage of.

For some reason, I brought up the fact that I can’t get away from the typical Central American diet that consits of rice, beans, plantains,  a tasteless cole-slaw-type salad, and the standard beef, chicken or pork.

This fellow patron and new friend suggested a Chinese-owned vegetarian restaurant that he frequents daily.

Feed Your Brain With a Few Chinese Phrases and Words While Feeding Your Body With Vegetarian Fare

The next day I joined him in a cab ride to El Jardin de Vegetariano.  This place is exactly what I have been seeking out for almost two months now.

Upon walking in, you’re greeted by a plethora of meatless options including dark green vegetables, tofu and lentils to name a few.  These options would prove to be a godsend for my gastronomical values.

Before leaving for this trip seven weeks ago, I found myself preparing mostly vegetarian dishes. I specifically made sure that I used as many different colors as possible.  This included dark greens which are virtually non-exsistent in Central America.  This restaurant is now the closest thing to home.

I’ve started eating at El Jardin Vegetariano daily, causing my digestive tract to pleasantly push profound happiness.

Eating lentils, dark greens, and Tofu complimented by other veggie hues is about as good as it gets.  When the body manages to take in so many nutrients at once, hunger cravings tend to be nonexistent for a long period of time, usually five or six hours for me.

Let me share some nutritional benefits from these beautiful plates that you’re looking at:

Dark green vegetables

●  Enhances memory

●  Good for the eyes

●  Lengthens life expectancy

●  Reduces the risk of cancer and heart disease

Lentils

●  Do wonders for the heart

●  Great for the digestive tract

●  Helps stabilize blood sugar levels

●  Improves the flow of blood, oxygen and nutrients throughout the body

Tofu

●  Aids digestion

●  High in protein, vitamins and minerals

●  Lowers the risk of osteoporosis

●  Prevents chronic diseases like cancer and heart disease

I’m not a nutritionist; however, I like to be mindful of what I’m putting into my body as this is one of the only things that I have true control of.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

El Jardin Vegetariano is located on Via Veneto in Panama City.

Each portion costs $.50.  My plates usually run from $2.50 to $3.00 and provide temporary euphoria.

The currency of Panama is the U.S. dollar.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks! Well, that just came out. I meant it to mean that when we eat super healthy food our digestive tract feel great. I don’t wanna trek all of the way over to that place today so I’m gonna have to opt for some more traditional fare. Let’s hope I can avoid fried stuff. I’m on what could be a tough mission of finding a ton of veggies today. Although they do tend to carry lentils at the local Commedors

    Reply

  2. Posted by Seantonio Verde on March 16, 2011 at 14:28

    I’m happy to hear that you were able to pleasantly push profound happiness wherever it was you had the pleasure to do so (at the expense of some poor innocent bystanders I’m sure.) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

