Ruthless and Rowdy Rooster Fighting

A Typical Sunday Activity

I decided to set out on an organized rooster fighting tour led by a Dutchman who runs the hostel I’m staying in. He’s lived here for four years and knows more about Nicaraguan culture than any foreigner I’ve met.

I was the only one who showed up so it turned out that I would accompany him and his parents on a non organized visit.

As I’m a pacifist by trade, I’d never thought about watching animals fight.  I’m not a fan of boxing, wrestling or ultimate fighting.  However, the ambience and culture was something to take in.

It was only a 10 minute taxi ride out of the city center, where the roads turn to dirt. The woman of the house, Doña Ana, greeted us.

I was told that rooster fighting is a lot like boxing. The two roosters  fighting are of equal weight and ability. There are rounds and knock outs. Of course they weren’t boxing, instead, it looked like pure chaos. Feathers were flying while the two often bloody roosters were attacking one another.

How cute is this creature?

People were cheering as bets were placed. While sitting and watching beside the Dutchman, a man asked me for my beer, he poured it over a bloody rooster to clean the wound in between rounds. I was told that it was customary to ask the closest person with a beer for a bit to clean the wound.

There was a lot of blood. I watched four fights. I was told that they don’t usually fight to the death, however, at the end of the final fight, I witnessed a bloody rooster keel over.  A man pulled the winning rooster away and I heard many people saying:

Muerto” or dead.

I had a hard time understanding the rules, perhaps a bit like a European trying to understand what goes on during an American baseball or football game.

I have the feeling that this may have been the only time I’d be a spectator at a spectacle such as this.

“Vaya Con Dios.”

A man who explained to me that God is our savior, that He is our reason for being, that we are His servants, that everything is so good here because of Him.  He then asked me to buy him a rooster for 150 Cordobas (US $7).

I told him that I didn’t have the money as  people have been asking me daily to buy them things. I can’t give money to the endless beggars back home, thus I must follow the same philosophy down here.

I must confess, I’m getting a bit tired of appearing to be a walking sack of sustenance.

Doña Ana Cooking on Her Makeshift Grill

The Food A highlight of this day was the chicken that was not bought in a store, as it was freshly killed the day before. It wasn’t injected with hormones. It was deep fried in oil over a makeshift grill.

I’ve been contemplating vegetarianism for quite some time now, as meat, including chicken, just hasn’t been sitting well in my gut.

Surprisingly, this chicken that was prepared by Doña Ana, was the tastiest I’ve ever had, and my stomach felt perfect while returning to the city center at dusk.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Extremely well written article!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

